Inspired Works – Sundown (Calan Mai) by Brother Delight


O Dreaming King
In a Tomb so cold
I saw the meadows blossoming in Summer gold
You’ve come tonight
My war-torn ghost
With bonewhite arms to hold me tight in a dreaming host

I love Him best, I love Him most
My lighthouse shines on the stormy coast
Come to my hearth and lay You down
And lay aside Your holly crown
“It’s time to die, but we can dream–
I’m not as silent as I seem.”
I roamed the woods alone to cry
You made me weep at Calan Mai.

She told me, on Her wedding day
“I’m glad there’s someone who can stay
Beside Him still, the Faery King!
Inspired One, I pray you sing
And weep for Him, and hold His scars
And look at Him with eyes like stars.”

Your laugh rang bold
“He kills Me soon.”
I miss Your beauty like the cold and brilliant Moon!
You made me smile
To soothe my fear
Shining brilliantly, beguiling, fae and queer!

I saw my ghostly Lord appear
He stood and swayed upon His spear
And barely held Himself aloft,
“My Only Sunshine” singing soft.
And as I stood there making tea–
“I pray you, make a cup for Me.”
In silent tenderness we drank
Which warm and heavy round us sank.

Sweet Lord, in bloodied weariness
I hold You to my breast, and press
My hand to moonwhite hair, and sigh
You came to me after Calan Mai
Your haven, in my arms and bed
To rest and bleed and lay Your head.

I love Him most, I love Him best
My tears have dried, it’s time to rest
“Come here and hold Me, in My Tomb!
We’ll have each other in My doom.
The coffin lid glints clear as ice
And true love’s kiss might still suffice
To wake the King’s enchanted sleep!
So come, Beloved, to Annwfn’s Deep.”

~ Brother Delight


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.